It Happens…….

For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Hebrews 4:12 (NIV)

The Word of God is alive.  How awesome is that?  The very words spoken by the Creator of the Universe are available to the world today.  Many of us, have several copies in our home and in different translations.   I can access God’s Word not only from the hard copies that I have at home….but also digitally.   I can access it from my iPhone, iPad, & MacBook (yes I know I am an Apple fanboy).  I can hear it on my radio in my car or I can hear it on T.V.  (although most TV preachers make me want to barf).

God’s Word is everywhere.  How many Christians take it for granted?  With the Bible so readily available, how hungry do I get to read it?  How much do I long for it?  Can I go a day without it?  Is the bible just another book?  Have I grown apathetic with it?  May I burn with passion for God’s word, as my dear brothers & sisters around the world in underground churches.  May I hunger, as the believers, whose only scripture to read is the scripture that they have memorized. They have no Bible because it is illegal.

When I read it does it move me?  Acorrding to this verse in Hebrews the Bible reads us more than we read it.  It is searching deep within us and bringing our spirit in tune with His Spirit.  It is digging deep within my soul and it is my greatest judge.  It knows me.  It searches me.  When I read it do I see myself in the stories?  This, in my opinion, is the best way to read God’s Word.

The greatest truth for us to know in the Bible…..is not that “it happened” but that “it happens”.  I need to see myself as Adam & Eve when they sinned.  That happens to me everyday.  I need to see myself as a young shepherd boy whose faith was enough to bring down a giant. I lack faith everyday.  I need to see myself as Joseph and his brothers.  Unforgiveness, Pain, Rejection….it happens. I need to insert myself in the story ofthe prophet who ran away from God and got swallowed by a big fish.  I have issues.  Apathy, doubt, indifference to suffering……it happens.  I need to see myself as the little boy who gave Jesus his lunch.  God believes in me when no one else does.  It happens.  I need to see myself as the thief who hung on the cross…..it happens.  I can go on and on.  I hope you see my point.

It is not enough to know the characters, events and stories of the Bible.  What is a wealth of Bible knowledge going to do for you?  Read the message.  Heed the message.  Don’t read the bible for knowledge.  It is not a textbook.  Read it for what it is….the Living, Breathing, Inspired, Flawless, Soul Searching, Poetic message from the God who loves me.  Make it happen.

3 thoughts on “It Happens…….

  1. Great write up Dan! It is amazing how often we look to the Bible just another book. We may put it above other books but we see it as just a book rather than the living Word of God. You post reminded me of this video I used once. I think it asks a great question.

Leave a Reply

