Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner : Boycotts, Petitions, Soap Boxes & the Gospel #chickfila

This post is a follow up to my posting here

Chick-fil-aToday is Chick-Fil-A Appreciation Day.  Former Governor Mike Huckabee has asked for Christians around the country to show support for the fast food restaurant.  It appears that it has been been a huge success, as Chick-Fil-A’s across the country have had lines out the door, all day long.  Yesterday morning I blogged about the pending event, and I caused quite the stir by my opinion.  Some understood what I was trying to say, and others did not.  I thought I would clarify why I wrote what I wrote.  Let me begin by saying that my post entitled “Eat more Chickin…just don’t call it justice” set a record from my blog.  At the time of this writing, roughly 1,000 visits have been recorded, in just a little over a day.  That is not earth shattering…but it was a lot for me. Thank you to those who shared and commented.  I am loving the conversation.

What I should have said…..

I should have made it clearer that I am not opposing Chick-Fil-A.  

As I mentioned in the article…”I love Chick-Fil-A.”  I am a regular caloric partaker of their heavenly goodness.  I have no opposition to Chick-Fil-A, Dan Cathy’s statements about marriage, or their right to express their opinion.  On FaceBook, I’ve seen many comments about Chick-Fil-A’s philanthropic endeavors and I applaud them.

I should have made it clearer that I am not opposing ANYBODY who goes to Chick-Fil-A to show their support.  

Many were offended that I had cast judgment on them for their desire to go show support.  That was not my intention at all.  If you believe in freedom of speech and the free exercise of religion…fantastic!  I did not mean to imply that those who were supporting Chick-Fil-A did not care about the social issues I mentioned.   That would be very hypocritical, as I myself, have not shown a passion for all of those issues.  My article was not a blanket statement for all people who support Chick-Fil-A. That would have been extremely foolish.  My wording was poor and should have been more specific.

What I really was saying….

My “rant” was aimed at those who were strictly going to buy a chicken sandwich, to make a statement, in order to oppose homosexuals.  This truly was my intent.  I know that not everybody who went, was or is making this statement.  If you are backing a business and their freedom to express themselves…then my issue is not with you. My issue is with those who live in hypocrisy in singling out a single sin.

The answer to sin is not a national protest, boycott or petition.  This is not loving, it is not gospel, it is not Godly.  To make a such a public statement against a particular sin (homosexuality) while living in sin everyday (yes I mean everybody) is wrong.  The point of my article was about making another kind of statement. A statement that reaches out to those who some oppose.  I stated the following in the post.

“If you really want to support Chick-Fil-A, and make a difference, go give away a chicken sandwich and fries to a homosexual couple. Where is the same passion and love to preach the gospel to the ends of the earth?”

Again…this is directed to those who would rather oppose sin with a public statement, than actually doing the hard work of loving their neighbor.  I have, and always have been opposed to boycotts.  I don’t believe they help, encourage or justify the purpose of such events.  Some, who would throw their 100% support behind Chick-Fil-A because of their pro marriage stance, have no problem with supporting other companies who are for gay marriage.  Apple is pro gay…yet many do not care and still buy their products.  Starbucks is pro gay…but some still buy their coffee.  There are many companies that we can list here.  So yes it bothers me when some pick and choose what they oppose and what they support.  If you are going to take such a stand then do so with all of your heart and energy.  Be consistent.

The gospel is the answer.  The gospel is the only thing that will change America.  Not national boycotts or appreciation days.  The only thing that will melt hearts, change minds, convert sinners is the gospel.  My frustration is when we spend all sorts of energy trying to change others with morality.  We can not expect those who are not christians; to act or be like christians, until they are in fact christians!

If tomorrow, gay marriage was banned everywhere, how would that change anything?  Would that save anybody?  Can we really legislate morality and expect the world to change?  Is this really where our energy should be exasperated? Jesus has not called us to bash people.  He has called us to be people of grace, truth and love.  Speak the truth!  But, speak the truth in love.  Take a stand! But, take a stand with grace.  Be bold! But be truthful in all you do. After all, how will people know we are His?  Will they know us because we pack out Chick-Fil-A and take a stand for what we believe?  Or will they know us by the love we have been changed by?  It’s time for the people of God to be known for what we are for and not just what we are against!  Put love in action.  Put truth in action.

So if you went to Chick-Fil-A to show support or not; I pray that you will take this verse to heart, for whatever motive brought you there.

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” – 1 Corinthians 10:31

Here are some great articles written today that I believe present an incredible approach to this topic.

Perry Noble – Ben & Jerry’s, Chick-fil-A & Political Correctness

Jason Dukes – As followers of Jesus, should we show up at Chick-fil-A today or Friday?

Leave a Reply

