Day 6 – “God’s Glory is Why I’m Saved”

The following post is a part of a series called “40 Days of Light”.  “40 Days of Light” is a church-wide campaign at the church I pastor.  Join our church as we go through this next 40 Days exploring and exulting God and His Word.  These postings are also available on Amazon.com for your Kindle or Kindle App. Please search “40 Days of Light” in the Amazon Kindle Bookstore. For more information about “40 Days of Light” please visit http://www.nwbcbradenton.org

“Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a burning coal that he had taken with tongs from the altar. And he touched my mouth and said: “Behold, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away, and your sin atoned for.” – Isaiah 6:6-7

Because of the weight and beauty of God’s glory; Isaiah repented of his sins. He saw the beauty of God contrasted against the ugliness of his sins and his people. We know that repentance brings glory to God. Jesus tells us that there is joy for even one sinner that repents. It did not end there for Isaiah. God’s glory also led to the forgiveness and atonement of Isaiah’s sins. When someone comes to repentance and turns from their sin and to God; it is for God’s glory. The very reason God saves people is for His Glory. What an astounding thought. It gives God immeasurable pleasure and joy to save those who believe. God is the only one who can take the glory for saving anybody, because salvation is strictly from His grace. Salvation is planned, delivered and accomplished through, to and for God.

God did not save you for your benefit. Although, we benefit greatly from being saved from His wrath. God saved us because it gives Him ultimate joy. Jesus did not come in the flesh, perfectly obey the law, and die your death so that you will be honored. When Jesus was enduring the wrath of God for ALL sin – he was not thinking about you “above all”. He was dying for God’s Glory. He was absorbing the full wrath, weight and judgment for sin, so that the wrath of God would be perfectly satisfied. He creates, calls, and saves “for his names sake”. When you realize how awesome, majestic, and glorious and bright this God is – you can’t help but respond with a “Woe is me”.

Read these verses and see God’s motivation for why he saves and forgives.

“For my name’s sake I defer my anger, for the sake of my praise I restrain it for you, that I may not cut you off. Behold, I have refined you, but not as silver; I have tried you in the furnace of affliction. For my own sake, for my own sake, I do it, for how should my name be profaned? My glory I will not give to another. Isaiah 48:9-11

I am writing to you, little children, because your sins are forgiven for his name’s sake. – 1 John 2:12

 Thus says the Lord God, It is not for your sake, O house of Israel, that I am about to act, but for the sake of my holy name . . . And I will vindicate the holiness of my great name . . .. And the nations will know that I am the Lord. (Ezekiel 36:22-23; cf. v. 32)

 I, I am he who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins. (Isaiah 43:25)

 For your own name’s sake, O Lord, pardon my guilt, for it is great. (Psalm 25:11)

Leave a Reply

