Day 11 – The Hope of the Word In Me

“My soul longs for your salvation; I hope in your word. My eyes long for your promise; I ask, “When will you comfort me?” For I have become like a wineskin in the smoke, yet I have not forgotten your statutes. How long must your servant endure? When will you judge those who persecute me? The insolent have dug pitfalls for me; they do not live according to your law. All your commandments are sure; they persecute me with falsehood; help me! They have almost made an end of me on earth, but I have not forsaken your precepts. In your steadfast love give me life, that I may keep the testimonies of your mouth.” – Psalm 119:81-88

When your life falls apart what brings you hope? Some run to sports teams, the stock market and political systems for hope. I’m so glad that my hope in life is not in the New York Yankees. The Yankees, the world’s most accomplished sports franchise, has had much to celebrate over the years. They own and hold the record of 27 world championships. They have been in existence since 1901 spanning over 100 years of competitive play. Although they have won a record 27 times, it also means they have not been successful at least 86 of those years. Eighty-six different years the Yankees have left their fans disappointed.

The stock market has crashed numerous times over the years. It is true that some have made fortunes through the market, but others have lost more. The stock market changes everyday and tomorrow is not guaranteed. You may earn a few dollars or lose thousands. This is not a system in which to hope in either. Politics also pose a nightmare for real hope. What happens when your political party wins, or doesn’t? What happens when policies and laws are established that you believe are unconstitutional? I’ve seen many depressed and discouraged Christians that act as if their hope is dependent on who lives in the White House. I am so thankful that as a Christian, my hope is in a much greater Kingdom.

The Psalmist knew that his hope and deliverance was in a much greater Rescuer. The Psalmist longed for the promises of God. Even in the midst of desperation and difficult times, he did not “forget” God’s statutes. His enemies were winning and all hope had seemed lost, but he was reminded of one thing that mattered. He was reminded of God’s steadfast love. He knew that God’s unchanging, never-giving-up love was the fuel for living life. The Bible tells us of a Faithful God who loves His people, and gives them abundant promise and hope. A daily reminder of the gospel is a necessity for each believer.

How often do you remember the promises that God has for you? Everyday, we are surrounded by people who disappoint and let us down. However, we can take full confidence that our God sits on the throne and is Sovereign. The Psalmist knew that God had promised to save him. By remembering this promise, he was enabled to endure the darkest of days. If you are not daily reading the Bible how can you know what God has promised? May you start reading His word daily, and may His spirit create a longing for God within your soul. What is your plan to make sure you read and are reminded of God’s promises daily. Get in the Word. The light of His Word brings me hope and a promise.

Leave a Reply

