Day 14 – The Peace of the Word in Me

“Princes persecute me without cause, but my heart stands in awe of your words. I rejoice at your word like one who finds great spoil. I hate and abhor falsehood, but I love your law. Seven times a day I praise you for your righteous rules. Great peace have those who love your law; nothing can make them stumble. I hope for your salvation, O Lord, and I do your commandments. My soul keeps your testimonies; I love them exceedingly. I keep your precepts and testimonies, for all my ways are before you.”

Psalm 119:161-168

I don’t remember where I was, or exactly who was with me at the time. However, I do remember some details very well. An unidentifiable object caught my eye about 75-100 feet in front of me. My eight-year-old eyes were good, but not that good. I remember the white floor and an empty hallway. It may have been in a mall or an airport. I do not remember. As I came closer to the object, my heart began to beat with excitement. I began to wish that this is really what I had hoped it was. As I approached closer I was beginning to realize that my wish was coming true. I stooped over and picked up a twenty-dollar bill off of the floor. Twenty dollars?!?! I’m rich! Do you know what I can buy with this? I acted like I had just inherited millions of dollars. I don’t even remember what I bought with that money. But, I do remember the joy of finding that treasure. Everyone values different kinds of treasure in different kinds of way.

The Psalmist continues to express his love for the word in this very long chapter. “I rejoice at your word like one who finds great spoil.” What an amazing attitude to behold the Word of God. For the Psalmist, finding truth in the Word was like an eight year old finding a twenty-dollar bill. At 8 years old I had no idea about the value of money. But I believed that what I found was about to reveal much happiness. I found myself to be extremely wealthy. What if we approached the Bible with as much excitement? Do you just read the Bible to “get it done”? Are you going through the motions? Are you finding what you read to be of no value? It may stem from a wrong understanding of the beauty, majesty and power of the Word.

I am a lover of technology. Ok…I will admit it here in this book. I am a geek. I love to immerse myself in the latest news of the tech world. I actually enjoy seeing how fast a computer can process information. I love to see the vital stats on how a computer actually operates. I read about 10-12 tech blogs everyday. Yes, everyday. I pride myself in being not only a lover but also a user of the latest and greatest technology. No matter how fast and efficient computers can become they can never match the power of the Word. Why?

Our God speaks. He spoke the worlds into existence. He speaks to us through His written word. Do you fully comprehend that? I forget. You might forget as well. We hold the greatest treasure in our hands. Why don’t you celebrate that you are rich today?

Leave a Reply

